CAMS_blade   FIA_Member Logo

CAMS AMRC Racing towards 2020 and beyond

Webpagebanner 2020

The future of circuit racing for Australian motor sport has a new road map to 2020 and beyond.

In 2015, the Board of the Confederation of Australian Motor Sport (CAMS) tasked the Australian Motor Racing Commission (AMRC) to conduct an extensive review of motor racing categories and provide a report on the future strategy for circuit racing in Australia.

The review acknowledged the need to deliver a more structured motor racing framework to meet the growing, changing and developing needs of the industry and its many and varied stakeholders. In doing this, confirming the value and prestige of CAMS Championships and Series was a priority.

From 2016 onwards, a new three tiered Championship and Series structure will be introduced at National level:

CAMS Australian Championships

  • CAMS Australian Touring Car Championship (V8 Supercars Championship)
  • CAMS Australian GT Championship
  • CAMS Australian Formula 4 Championship
  • CAMS Australian Endurance Championship (Details to be announced)

CAMS Australian Series

  • V8 Supercar Development Series
  • Porsche Carrera Cup Australia
  • V8 Ute Racing Series

CAMS Authorised Series 

  • Sports Sedans
  • Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge Australia
  • Kumho V8 Touring Cars
  • Aussie Racing Cars
  • Production Car Series
  • Touring Car Masters
  • Toyota 86 Pro-Am Racing Series
  • Radical & Sports Racers Australia Cup
  • Formula 3 (2016 only after which provision will be made for Formula 3 cars at State Level)

Further information about the AMRC review, and the new look for circuit racing in Australian motor sport, can be found HERE

Consistent with the FIA open wheel strategy and after a comprehensive review of other motor racing markets, Formula Ford will continue to be a part of the Australian motor racing framework and development pathway as a category eligible for state competition. CAMS will also look to assist in the organisation and promotion of an annual Formula Ford Festival and provide significant prizes to the winner. Formula 3 will remain as an Authorised Series in 2016 before it moves to state competition whilst CAMS works with the FIA to explore the possibility of a regional Formula 3 Championship.

The Australian Endurance Championship and the Australian Tourist Trophy will also take on a new look which CAMS will announce shortly.

CAMS will continue the suspension of the prestigious and highly regarded Gold Star whilst work continues on finding an appropriate format for the award.