CAMS_blade   FIA_Member Logo

Formula 3

F3 Header

The Formula 3 Australian Drivers Championship is one of Australia’s premier open wheel categories. Australian Formula 3 cars run to the same specifications as Europe and Asia giving the series true international recognition.

It also means relevant experience for young drivers prior to progressing through the development categories in Europe.

Formula 3 cars have also evolved to be one of Australia’s fastest racing cars.

At Phillip Island, the F3 lap record is some seven seconds per lap faster than a V8 Supercar, and even three-seconds faster than a MotoGP World Championship motorcycle. The result of this is the most spectacular racing possible and one of the closest things to Formula 1 cars in Australian motor sport.
Recent years have witnessed the ‘internationalisation’ of the series, with no less than 20 drivers from overseas racing in the championship propelling both local and international drivers to great success.

Formula 3 championship winners include Bib Stilwell, Kevin Bartlett, Alfredo Costanzo, Mark Skaife and Will Power – among others. 

The F3ADC is noted for its close competition and furious racing.

For further information visit:

Image courtesy of Nathan Wong