CAMS_blade   FIA_Member Logo

Formula Ford

FF Header

Formula Ford was established in England in 1967, as a cost effective starting  point for young hopefuls beginning a career in motor racing.  Since then, the  sport has rapidly grown to become the world’s premier junior development  category. Introduced in Australia in 1969, Formula Ford has become the  accepted proving ground for the nation’s champions, on a local and international level.  Graduates include many Formula One World Champions, including Michael Schumacher and Ayrton Senna.

A proven breeding ground of Australia’s future motor sport stars, Formula Ford in Australia boasts a long list of successful alumni including former Formula 1 driver Mark Webber, NASCAR driver Marcos Ambrose and V8 stars such as Craig Lowndes, Will Davison, Mark Winterbottom and V8 Supercar Champion Jamie Whincup. Currently, more than 70% of V8 Supercar drivers raced in the Formula Ford category in their early careers. In addition to the national series, state series championships are held in most Australian states, both as a cost-effective introduction to the sport for new drivers from karting and Formula Vee, and for vintage Formula Ford. 

For further information please visit

Image courtesy of Mark Horsburgh