Officials headline South Australia awards night

Sunday 10 February, 2019
A host of hard working officials have headlined the list of award winners at the CAMS South Australia State Awards presented by Burson Auto Parts.
Photo: Bob Gloyn

The weekend’s final CAMS State Awards presented by Burson Auto Parts has taken place in South Australia with the event focusing on a host of outstanding officials from 2018. 

Kicking off the evening’s individual accolades was the announcement of the state’s Service Award Winners, which recognised the hard work and dedication of eight officials.

Awarded for the service to motor sport for not just 2018, but for contributions spanning a number of years were Scott Chamings, David Hamilton, Alan Pickstock, Grant Zippel, Paul Dagley, Paul Bonnett, Beverley Waters and Trevor Nash.

Taking out the evening’s top gong, the Castrol State Official of the Year award, was Ian Lamb, his efforts during The Bend Motorsport Park’s first year of action on of his major highlights. 

Also known for providing equipment to competitors for many years at varying different events, Lamb’s dedication, expertise and mentoring throughout his time as an official was also a contributing factor to his award. 

The Castrol State Official of the Year honour wasn’t the only piece of silverware that he took home either, with Lamb also named as the 2018 Circuit Racing Official of the Year too. 

Lamb was one of six officials to be acknowledged for their contributions to their respective disciplines, with the best Off Road, Rally, Auto, Speed and junior officials also announced. 

For her wonderful demeanour and the smooth running of a host of South Australian rally events through her work in event administration, June Bunker-Marratt was awarded the 2018 Rally Official of the Year.

Taking home the 2018 Off Road Official of the Year was Paul Dagley, the popular South Australian Off Road member earning his award after many years of being involved with a number of club, state and official roles, as well as taking on a mentor role in the community.

Elizabeth Wilson was named the Auto Test Official of the Year after many years of exceptional service in a number of roles including timing, administration and managing road closure at club, multi-club, state and national level events.

After only a short time as an official compared to some of the other winners, Nick Papanikolaou was named as the 2018 Speed Official of the Year due to his growing reputation as a proficient timekeeper and unique problem solver. 

While originally only signing up as an official to support his son, Papanikolaou’s knowledge and confidence throughout the short time has made him a worthy winner of the award.

The final official to be awarded during the evening was the Junior Official of the Year, as former Junior Officials Programme graduate Peter Clarke was named the winner after a solid year of progressing through the official ranks. 

Another accolade recognising the sport’s up and coming talent was the Burson Future Star Award, which was handed to Max Vidau. 

Vidau took out the award after finishing third outright in last year’s Porsche Michelin GT3 Cup Challenge, the major highlight being his round win on home turf at the Bend Motorsport Park for the Shannons Nationals. 

It was the year of The Bend in 2018, with the world-class circuit playing host to a number of award winning events and South Australia’s event of the year was no different. 

Following an impressive three days of action packed racing at the new circuit, the 2018 Improved Production Nationals was awarded the number one event for the year. 

The next CAMS State awards evening to take place is in New South Wales on 16 February at Waterview in Bicentennial Park, Sydney