CAMS_blade   FIA_Member Logo

Celebration of Tasmanian Motor Sport

Created with flickr slideshow.


Burson Logo _Long _Blue PMS 294

The Tasmanian motor sport community gathered last night to celebrate the 2017 season at the CAMS Tasmanian State Motor Sport Awards.

Presented by Burson Auto Parts, the CAMS State Awards recognise the best-of-the-best in each state.

State champions and series winners across off road, rally, circuit, speed and non-speed were formally crowned their respective titles. 

Officials were also recognised, with Melissa Johnson awarded the Castrol Tasmanian State Official of the Year honour. The 500 Car Club of Tasmania member displayed a great deal of energy and commitment to the club, with the club’s committee acknowledging her efforts throughout last season. 

One of the state’s most popular events, the Baskerville Historics, was awarded State Event of the Year honours. The event is a must-do amongst the historic racing community, and it has played an integral part in the survival of the Baskerville facility. 

The Burson Future Star Award was presented to Bodie Reading, who displayed remarkable maturity in his breakthrough season in rallying. In an older specification Subaru WRX, Reading progressed in the Tasmanian Championship with a top ten finish, later a podium and eventually a win in the final round. 

CAMS Service Awards, in recognition for diligent service to Tasmanian motor sport, were received by Ian Wheeler, Stephen Peters, Peter Barrett and Lee Marshall.

For exemplary service to CAMS and motor sport over several years, two were awarded to Robin Wilmot and Karen Baker to recognise their efforts as competitors and volunteers in state motor racing.

Several of the state’s perpetual trophy winners were also announced. Nathan Roddam was the winner of the Peter Bondy Trophy, in recognition of his efforts in the Tasmanian Rally Championship. Roddam claimed 2WD Class wins in the championship in his Hyundai Excel, with extremely limited resources.

Persons of the Year awards were also awarded to rallying’s Stephen Sims, off road’s Michael Donohoe, and karting’s Janine Evers.

The traditional Tasmanian Motor Sport Hall of Fame inductees were announced, with Bruce Gowans and the Late Ian Harrington formally inducted.

Tasmanian Motor Sport Hall of Fame
Bruce Gowans
The Late Ian Harrington 

Tasmanian State Series
Super Sprint Championship: Scott Smith
Hill Climb Series : Stephen Mott
Motorkhana Series: Nick Yaxley
CAMS Club Challenge: North West Car Club – Stephen Mott, Philip House, Leigh Ford, Jared Robertson 

Tasmanian Off Road Series
Pro Lite: Chris Boon
Super 1650: Geoff Lowry
Performance 2WD: Steve Watkins
Extreme 2WD: Peter Holman
Extreme 4WD: Dean Maddock
Pro Buggy: Justin Tatnell
UTV Class: Mike Males
Outright Driver: Chris Boon
Outright Co-Driver: David Clark 

Tasmanian Rally Series
2WD Driver: Matt How
2WD Co-Driver: Nathan Walker
P2 Driver: Aidan Peterson
P2 Co-Driver: Gavin Johnstone
P3 Driver: David Oates
P3 Co-Driver: Darren Lovell
P4 Driver: Matt How
P4 Co-Driver: Nathan Walker
P5 Driver: Eddie Maguire
P5 Co-Driver: Adrian Hodgetts
P6 Driver: Steve Maguire
P6 Co-Driver: Joshua Sutcliffe
Outright Driver: Eddie Maguire
Outright Co-Driver: Adrian Hodgetts 

Tasmanian Circuit Series
Formula Vee 1200: Wade McLean
Sports GTA: Tony Warren
Sports GTB: Hayden Lovell
Sports GTC: Mick Williams
HQ Holden: Phil Ashlin
Historic: Scott Cordwell
Improved Production: Adam Williams
Sports Sedan: Adam Williams
Hyundai Excel: Peter Kemp
Historic Regularity: Brett Mansfield 

Tasmanian Perpetual Awards
Peter Bondy Trophy: Nathan Roddam
Paddy and Enid Baker Trophy: Graham Malcolm
Jeff Ransley Memorial Trophy: Peter Kemp
Ron and Ivy McDonald Circuit Racing Trophy: Adam Garwood
Ling Rookie Trophy: Josh Webster
Police Commissioner’s Trophy for Outstanding Achievement: Daniel Davies

Persons of the Year
Rally: Stephen Sims
Off Road: Michael Donohoe
Karting: Janine Evers 

CAMS Awards
Burson Future Star Award: Bodie Reading
Castrol State Official of the Year: Melissa Johnson
State Event of the Year: Baskerville Historics
Service Award: Ian Wheeler
Service Award: Stephen Peters
Service Award: Peter Barrett
Service Award: Lee Marshall
Service Star: Robin Wilmot
Service Star: Karen Baker


Published: 11 February, 2018