CAMS_blade   FIA_Member Logo

Competition close at Targa Bunbury Sprint


Fans gathered to Bunbury's industrial area to cheer on 90 tarmac rally vehicles competing in the GT Fabrication Targa Bunbury Sprint event. 

Troy Wilson and co-driver Willie Thompson quickly established themselves as the favourites, however a mechanical issues with their Evo 10 saw the pair withdraw, handing the lead to Subaru steerer Matt O'Neil and co-driver Mandy Lister.

O’Neill and Lister completed all eight stages in 20:23.38, to win the event outright and secure a class win.

“I haven’t driven competitively since Targa West 2015,”O’Neill said.

“Considering the field, and being a bit rusty I was aiming for the top 10, but to win it exceeded my expectations and was a nice surprise.

“The course was really good, there was a bit of everything for everyone in there with tight twisty parts and wide open fast parts. It is quite an interesting course. 

“The way the event was structured gave competitors a chance to spectate and mingle with the crowd in between runs. There was lots of people out, and the event was well received."

Will White and Matthew Thompson completed the event in a time of 20:25.91, earning them second outright, a class win and more valuable Quit Targa Cup points.

White said overall the event was a fantastic experience for their team. 

“We had an absolute blast. Matty called some good notes again and we got some more Targa Cup points which is what we’re after," White said.

“There was a fantastic turnout of people. I couldn’t believe how many people were there in the morning until lunchtime – it was just huge! It is wonderful to see so many families in the grandstands just enjoying the day.”

Third outright was claimed by experienced Targa competitors Peter Rullo and co-driver Jimmy Marquet, completing the event in their Nissan R35 GTR with a time of 20:44.54, which also awarded them a class win.

The final round of the series will be held during Quit Targa West across 10-13 August.


GT Fabrication Targa Bunbury Sprint class winners

Class 1 Targa Cup 2WD < 2000cc
Car #59 Andrew Carrick / Alex Carrick, Ford Escort

Class 2 Targa Cup 2WD > 2000cc
Car #10 Simon Gunson / Murray Armenti, Ford Capri Perana

Class 3 Targa Cup 4WD < 3500cc
Car #3 Will White / Matthew Thompson, Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 9

Class 4 Targa Cup 4WD > 3500cc
Car #5 Peter Rullo / Jimmy Marquet, Nissan R35 GTR

Class 5 Targa Cup 2WD/4WD Gravel
Car #82 Mitchell Clarke / Stuart Clarke, Datsun 1600

Class 6 Open Rally Sprint 2WD < 2000cc
Car #39 Lee Mcilroy / Jo Mcilroy, Ford Escort

Class 7 Open Rally Sprint 2WD > 2000cc
Car #31 Mark Cates / Todd Haffner, Ferrari 488 Spider

Class 8 Open Rally Sprint 4WD
Car #7 Matt O’Neil / Mandy Lister, Subaru Impreza WRX STI