CAMS_blade   FIA_Member Logo

Major Tarmac rally win for Porsche pilots


Peter Major and Kim Screaigh have claimed the third round of the Shannons Targa Rallysprint Series in emphatic fashion, beating more than 70 drivers in the popular event. 

In what was a perfect start to the new year, the 2005 Porsche 996 Turbo pilots finished the four-run event 18 seconds ahead of their closet rivals Mark Greenham and Steph Esterbauer, with the pair posting the fastest time on all four of their runs. 

Major and Screaigh also managed to secure the fastest time of the event, their first run of two minutes and 16 seconds too fast for anyone else to catch.


As Major and Screaigh dominated the strong field, Greenham and Esterbauer tried their best to keep up with the front runners, however they were unable, finishing four or more seconds behind the leaders on all four runs. 

Behind the wheel of the 2006 Mitsubishi Evo IX, the runner-ups also faced constant pressure from two other cars as the battle for second place proved to be the most entertaining of the round, only one second separating all three teams. 

Click here to view the overall standings.


While Greenham and Esterbauer managed to post the fastest times across the three teams, the Brett and Cassie Wilkinson driven 2008 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X traded run-wins with Cody Harris and Alex Butler in their 2004 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 8MR.

The Evo X pilots won the first two runs before Harris and Butler claimed the final two runs, only for them to fall an agonising one tenth of a second behind the Wilkinsons and miss out on a podium finish.


Rounding out the top-five was Blaise Paris and Jane Pomersbach, the 1993 Porsche 964 3.8 RSR drivers comfortably finishing above Bill and Glenys Stagoll and Paul Brockbank and Matt James-Wallace.

Paris and Pomersbach also took out the C2H Class, while round runner-ups Greenham and Esterbauer didn’t go empty handed, picking a win in the C4L class.

Click here to view all class winners.


The Shannons Targa Rallysprint Series hold the penultimate round on Thursday, 7 February.


Photos: Chris Richmond, CMR Photographic
Published: 10 January, 2019