CAMS_blade   FIA_Member Logo

Motor sport stars finalists for ‘The Don’ award


Ahead of next week’s Sport Australia Hall of Fame gala dinner, Daniel Ricciardo and Will Power will be representing motor sport as finalists in ‘The Don’ Award for 2018.

Ricciardo and Power join the likes of other Australian sport stars across athletics, cricket and football, and are two out of eight to be nominated for the prestigious award.

Inaugurated in 1998 in honour of the late Sir Donald Bradman AC, it is awarded annually by the Sport Australia Hall of Fame to the athlete who, through their performance and example, has most inspired the nation.

Photo: Red Bull Content Pool

Both Ricciardo and Power sensationally brought motor sport to the fore in late May, when both drivers had a weekend to remember, winning the Monaco Grand Prix and Indianapolis 500 respectively on the same day.

It is Ricciardo’s second nomination for the award, his first coming in 2014, and the West Australian is aiming to become motor sport’s first athlete to claim ‘The Don’.

“Sir Donald Bradman is an Australian legend full stop,” Ricciardo said.

“To be selected for an award in his name based on my own achievements this year, is pretty special. I’m honoured.”

POWER Will Credit Dan Boyd
Photo: Dan Boyd

Power, who despite his impressive feats as IndyCar Series champion and Indy 500 winner, is humbled to be compared to the Australian and cricket sporting great.

“Because of Sir Donald Bradman’s almost supernatural status, being nominated as a finalist for an award named in his honour is pretty intimidating,” Power said.

“The Don Award means even more to me knowing that I do share his standards, values and philosophy. So even if I don’t win, this nomination is something I can take pride in – modestly, of course.

“It’s very satisfying to know that my efforts are being recognised at home, because although I live and work in America, I am very proud to always fly the Australian flag.”

The 34th Sport Australia Hall of Fame Induction and Awards Gala Dinner will take place on Thursday, 11 October in Melbourne. The evening will also see Allan Moffat OBE formally welcomed as an Athlete Member into the Hall of Fame.


‘The Don’ Award 2018 Finalists
Madison de Rozario – Athletics
Kurt Fearnley AO – Athletics
Sam Kerr – Football
Mark Knowles OAM – Hockey
Lauren Parker – Triathlon
Ellyse Perry – Cricket
Will Power – Motor sport/IndyCar
Daniel Ricciardo – Motor sport/Formula 1


Published: 2 October, 2018