CAMS_blade   FIA_Member Logo

World time attack to heat up Sydney


Time records are set to be broken this weekend as Sydney Motorsport Park hosts the annual World Time Attack Challenge. 

Headlined by the International Drift King and “father” of the sport, Keiichi Tsuchiya, more than 100 cars from Australia and abroad have confirmed their place in one of the most anticipated events of the year.

There will be plenty of action across the jam-packed two-day event, as competitors do battle across four categories and special cups.

All the action begins on Friday morning, led by the 11-car Royal Purple Pro/Pro Am Class, as Barton Mawer and Canadian William Au-Yeung return the event confident of a strong result, after finishing runner-up in their respective classes last year

All eyes will be on the Link ECU Open Class, which features 22 drivers from around the world including Tsuchiya and his Japanese compatriot in Tarzan Yamada.

Despite having international drivers, it’s the locals that have proved to be too strong in recent years, with the previous two winners in Adam Casmiri and Nathan Morcom both attending - Casmiri looking to make it three in four years.


The final class of the day is the biggest with a sensational 38-cars entered, the V-Sport Clubsprint Class. Jordan Cox returns to Sydney to defend his class title behind the wheel of the Hyundai 130 instead of the Mitsubishi Evo 9 used to win last year.

Click here for the full entry list. 

While the four categories will be the centre of the attention for much of the weekend, fans will also need to keen eye out for the special categories. 

Saturday afternoon will see the Turbosmart Flying 500 take place as 14 cars go head-to-head on the 500 metre Sydney Motorsport Park main straight at full speed, with the fastest car being crowned champion of the crowd favourite category

Towards the end of the weekend, the top five cars from each class will get one last chance to break records in the popular Superlap Shootout, before the final showdown of the weekend. 


As the sun sets, 32 cars will heat up the track, as the high adrenaline International Drifting Cup closes the event for another year.

Click here for the full event schedule

Beau Yates returns in his Toyota 86 to defend his title against international superstars such as Takahiro Immamura and Anaoki Nakamura.

As well as all the on-track action, there are plenty of activations off-track, including one Australia’s biggest car displays, the Shannons Show’n’Shine, which will feature more than 400 cars on hand for car enthusiasts to get up close and personal. 

Another off-track highlight will be the Traders Hall where a variety of motor sport equipment from top performance brands will be available to purchase. 


Tickets can be purchased from the gates and will be open to spectators from 8am on both days, with up to 12 viewing areas of the entire Circuit available.

Click here to purchase online tickets.

The World Time Attack Challenge takes place at Sydney Motorsport Park on 12-13 October.


Photos: World Time Attack Challenge Facebook
Published: 10 October, 2018