CAMS_blade   FIA_Member Logo


Jason White Targa High Country 2011 FireTasmania’s Jason White has shot to the lead of the CAMS Australian Targa Championship’s modern category after a dramatic victory in his Lamborghini at Targa High Country.

The Victorian snowfields based event was the first of the championship for modern cars – and the competition didn’t disappoint.

White’s performance was spectacular for a number of reasons...

Firstly, he was locked in a titanic struggle with veteran Tony Quinn in his Nissan GT-R for most of the event, ultimately prevailing by 10 seconds.

Secondly, needing to make up four seconds on Quinn on the event’s final stage, White’s Lamborghini Gallardo caught fire.

However, White pressed on, and remarkably managed to set a time 14 seconds quicker than his rival and take victory, despite his car crossing the line on fire.

“It was on fire from about the half way mark, but we thought it was best to get up to the finish where there were more fire extinguishers, rather than trying to put it out with ours,” said White.

“Obviously there was a win at stake so we just pushed on.
“It was a bit hard to concentrate with a fire ball hanging out the back but man, what a dramatic finish!”

It was a triumphant return to rallying for four-time Australian Rally Champion Simon Evans, as he and his co-driver wife Sue gave Mazda a dominant victory in the showroom category – winning by more than three minutes and taking the championship lead in that category.

Meanwhile, Ric Shaw took victory in the Showroom 4WD class, incredibly by just one second from fellow Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X driver Dean Evans.

Matt Turnbull drove a dominant rally in his 2000 Porsche 911 GT3 Clubsport to win the Early Modern class by three minutes.

For the classic drivers, it was their second outing in the CAMS Australian Targa Championship and all three categories saw plenty of changes at the top of the points standings.

Donn Todd backed up his fourth place at the previous round in the Supaloc Classic Targa Adelaide with victory in Targa High Country – the win propelled the 1971 Ford Capri Perana driver to the top of the Classic Outright and Early Classic standings.

In the Late Classic category, the consistency of Tolley Challis in his 1974 Porsche 911 Carrera RS saw him claim the championship lead after finishing seventh in class.



  1. Jason White, Lamborghini Gallardo Superleggera, 250 pts
  2. Tony Quinn, Nissan GT-R, 230
  3. Matt Sims, Nissan GT-R, 220
  4. Matt Close, Audi TT RS, 210
  5. Greg Garwood, Porsche 911 GT2 CS, 200



  1. Simon Evans, Mazda3 MPS, 250 pts
  2. Kym De Britt, Holden Astra, 230
  3. Adam Spence, BMW 130i, 220
  4. Adam Dodd, Mazda MX-5, 210
  5. Andrew McKay, Mazda MX-5, 200



  1. Ric Shaw, Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution X, 250 pts
  2. Dean Evans, Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution X, 230
  3. Scott Millar, Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution X, 220
  4. Ben Newman, Subaru Impreza WRX STi, 210
  5. Peter Wrench, Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution X, 200



  1. Matthew Turnbull, 2000 Porsche 911 GT3 CS, 250 pts
  2. Tim Hendy, 1999 Nissan Skyline GT-R V-Spec, 230
  3. Steve Spada, 1999 Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution VI, 220
  4. Samantha Stevens, 1999 Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution V1, 210
  5. Adam Kaplan, 1988 HSV Commodore Group A SS, 200



  1. Donn Todd, 1971 Ford Capri Perana, 460 pts
  2. Tolley Challis, 1974 Porsche 911 Carrera RS, 440
  3. Bernie Wilson, 1971 Ford Capri Perana, 370
  4. Craig Haysman, 1981 Triumph TR7 V8, 288
  5. Kevin Weeks, 1974 Porsche 911 Carrera RS, 250



  1. Donn Todd, 1971 Ford Capri Perana, 480 pts
  2. Bernie Wilson, 1971 Ford Capri Perana, 344
  3. Ted Banks, 1971 Porsche 916, 336
  4. Brian Dermott, 1971 Holden Torana XU1, 320
  5. Wayne Pfingst, 1971 Holden Torana, 292



  1. Tolley Challis, 1974 Porsche 911 Carrera RS, 384 pts
  2. Matthew Selley, 1974 Porsche 911 RS, 370
  3. Craig Haysman, 1981 Triumph TR7 V8, 298
  4. Damian O’Halloran, 1985 Mazda RX-7, 264
  5. Peter Hudson, 1985 Porsche 944, 254