CAMS_blade   FIA_Member Logo

CAMSEvening.JPGThe Confederation of Australian Motor Sport has paid tribute to the National Champions of 2013 and celebrated the significant achievements of 2013, CAMS’ 60th year, at a Gala evening in Melbourne.

The night also recognised those in the motor sport community whose service and contributions have made a significant difference to CAMS and motor sport.

The event, proudly presented by Penrite Oil, was attended by motor racing legends Allan Moffat, Neal Bates and Cameron McConville and other special guests.

Bates was presented with the prestigious Peter Brock Medal, an award struck in the name of the Australian motor racing legend.

A four time winner of the Australian Rally Championship, Bates has been recognised for his outstanding driver ability and commitment to the positive endorsement of motor sport within the greater community.

The CAMS Peter Brock Medal is proudly supported by Holden, Bridgestone, Armor All, Collingwood Football Club and the Brock family.

The CAMS honours and awards system recognises the actions and achievements of people who go above and beyond what could be reasonably expected, and in doing so, encourages aspirations and ideals of the highest standards and values within our sport.

Special guest interviews were conducted with former CAMS Australian Touring Car drivers Moffat and McConville at the event, with members of the Australian motor sport media recognised with CAMS Service Awards.


For a photo gallery from the event please click HERE



2013 CAMS National Champions and award recipients:

Australian Khanacross Championship - Michael Clements

Australian Motorkhana Championship - Corrine East-Johnston

Australian Hillclimb Championship Winner - Greg Ackland

Australian Rally Championship Winner - Eli Evans (Driver) and Glen Weston (Co-Driver)

Australian Formula 3 Championship Winner - Tim Macrow

Australian Formula Ford Championship Winner - Anton De Pasquale

Australian Off Road Championship Winner - Shannon Rentsch (Driver) and Ian Rentsch (Co-Driver)

Australian Targa Championship – Classic Winner - Donn Todd (Driver) and Dean Tighe (Co-Driver)

Australian Targa Championship – Modern – Jason White & John White

Australian Production Car Championship – Garry Holt

Australian GT Championship – Klark Quinn

Porsche Carrera Cup Australia Championship –Craig Baird

Australian Touring Car Championship – Jamie Whincup

CAMS Service Award Winners – Media

Ray Berghouse                                                  Phil Branagan

The late Jon Evans                                            Chris De Fraga

Mark Fogarty                                                     Bill Forsythe

Paul Gover                                                         Will Hagon

Bob Jennings                                                     Dirk Klynsmith

Peter McKay                                                      Garry O’Brien

CAMS Life Membership - Nick Ledingham

Phil Irving Award Winners - Chris Dyer and Ron Harrop

CAMS Australian Motor Sport Official of the Year - Tracey Rowley

Donald Thomson Award - Robert Newman

Member of Honour - Kevin Bartlett

Peter Brock Medal - Neal Bates

2013 FIA Best Doctor - Dr Erik Hagen

2013 FIA Best Scrutineer - Ewan Cole