CAMS_blade   FIA_Member Logo

Matthew Brabham second row starter for Indy Lights at Indianapolis

Matthew BrabhamMatthew Brabham has qualified third fastest in the Freedom 100 with an average speed of 186.423 mph.

Brabham, who claimed a maiden Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires victory during the recent road course double header, was followed closely by Andretti Autosport teammate and series leader Veach (186.259mph).

Brabham is running a tribute to his grandfather Sir Jack Brabham, who died peacefully at his Gold Coast home earlier this week, on his #83 Andretti Autosports entry.

Two weeks after claiming the first pole and race win of his Indy lights career on the 2.439-mile road course, veteran Brazilian Luiz Razia of GP2 Series competition in Europe returned to the fabled Brickyard - this time for his first experience on the 2.5-mile oval - and once again found himself on the top of the timing charts to win the Sunoco Pole Award.

Razia, from Sao Paulo, Brazil, driving the #7 Lucas Oil c/w Curb-Agajanian entry, turned a two-lap average speed of 187.710 mph to claim one championship point and move to within just four points of series leader Zach Veach.

Englishman Jack Harvey, who chased teammate Razia home to the checkered flag a couple of weeks ago, played second fiddle again this afternoon and will start alongside on the front row with an average speed of 186.573 mph in the #42 Racing Steps Foundation car.

Harvey and Razia also were the two fastest contenders in practice, with Harvey fastest of all at 188.269 mph and Razia right behind at 188.233 mph.

Speeds, as expected, were slower in qualifying, with cars running one at a time and therefore unable to take assistance of the considerable draft that ensues from circulating in nose-to-tail formation.

Colombian-American Gabby Chaves qualified fifth for Belardi Auto Racing, which the won last Freedom 100 in a blanket four-abreast finish with Peter Dempsey leading the way. Teammate Chase Austin, from Eudora, Kan., making his first start of the year in the #0 UNAIDS/Starting Grid car, will start seventh behind Mexican Juan Pablo Garcia (Schmidt Peterson).

The Freedom 100 is round seven of the Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires title-chase.