CAMS_blade   FIA_Member Logo

Shannons Nationals

ShannonChangeFrom 2016 and onwards, CAMS will take full ownership of the Shannons Nationals Presented by Penrite Oils. 

Throughout the beginning of the second decade of the CAMS National Racing Championships, the Nationals will begin at Sandown Raceway, whilst returning to Phillip Island and Sydney Motorsport Park for two rounds each, as well as paying visits to Winton and Queensland Raceways.

“We are delighted to announce a seven round national calendar featuring the best permanent circuits in the country,” CAMS General Manager of Motor Sport Development Cameron McConville said.

“We have maintained all along that it wouldn’t look that different to 2015 and happily we can also confirm that the main Shannons supporters will be back such as Australian GT, Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge, Sports Sedans, Radicals, F3 and V8 Touring Cars and we also look forward to welcoming a few new categories next year,” McConville continued.

CAMS also wants to link existing grassroots development initiatives to the events.

“We see opportunities to expand our Ricciardo’s Racers, F1 in Schools, Officials training and driver development programs by adding a practical element around the events,” CEO Eugene Arocca said.   

“Managing the Shannons Nationals is a logical step for us and we now have the appetite and operational capacity to take it on and run it successfully.

With the Shannons Nationals showcasing a competitive field of drivers, teams and cars on the best tracks in Australia, an equally strong broadcast arrangement will continue into 2016. 

“All rounds will feature free to air and pay TV and the very successful live streaming that continues to grow in numbers," McConville said.

For further information on the Shannons Nationals Presented by Penrite Oils, please head to the official Shannons Nationals website at

2016 CAMS Shannons Nationals Calendar
Round 1: Sandown Raceway – April 1–3
Round 2: Phillip Island – May 27–29
Round 3: Winton Raceway – June 10–12
Round 4: Sydney Motorsport Park – July 1–3
Round 5: Queensland Raceway – July 29–31
Round 6: Phillip Island – September 9–11
Round 7: Sydney Motorsport Park – November 11–13