CAMS_blade   FIA_Member Logo

2019 Supercars Calendar released


The 2019 Virgin Australia Supercars Championship schedule has been released with a host of changes made to the new 15-event calendar. 

The most notable variation to the action packed schedule is Barbagallo Raceway hosting the hugely popular SuperNight format, with the Perth based circuit replacing Sydney Motorsport Park. 

Other key changes will see Symmons Plains and Phillip Island go back-to-back in April, Sandown and Pukekohe will switch months and the iconic Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 will kick off the PIRTEK Enduro Cup.

The season once again begins in South Australia for the Adelaide 500 at the start of March, before moving east as a Championship round takes place for the second year running at the Formula 1 Australian Grand Prix 2019 in Albert Park.

With testing to occur at the famous Phillip Island Grand Prix circuit in February, Supercars CEO Sean Seamer was thrilled with the calendar.

“We're really happy with how it's turned out," Seamer told

"We've been able to get some events into better windows, which was a key priority from a ticketing point of view and found better opportunities to get clear air from a broadcast point of view as well.

"In general, we're really happy with the overlay, where the events sit but also the flow between the events, which means teams can navigate the country a little bit easier.

Victoria will be once again host four events throughout 2019, Queensland will have three and Adelaide two, while Western Australia, Tasmania, Northern Territory and New Zealand will all have one event each. 

With Sydney Motorsport Park no longer part of the calendar, New South Wales will have one event for 2019, the Coates Hire Newcastle 500 which will remain the season finale on 22-24 November.

The Supercars calendar release is expected to help shape a range of other CAMS 2019 affiliated championships and series.

Feb 28-Mar 3:      Adelaide 500, Adelaide (DS2)
Mar 14-17:          Melbourne 400, Formula One Australian Grand Prix, Albert Park
April 5-7:             Tyrepower Tasmania SuperSprint, Launceston
April 12-14:         WD-40 Phillip Island 500; Phillip Island
May 2-4:              Perth SuperNight, Barbagallo Raceway, Perth (DS2)
May 24-26:          Winton SuperSprint, Winton Raceway, Winton
June 14-16:         CrownBet Darwin Triple Crown, Darwin
July 5-7:               Watpac Townsville 400, Townsville (DS2)
July 26-28:           Ipswich SuperSprint, Ipswich (DS2)
Aug 23-25:          The Bend SuperSprint, Tailem Bend
Sept 13-15:         ITM SuperSprint, Auckland
Oct 10-13:           Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000, Bathurst (DS2)
Oct 25-27:           Vodafone Gold Coast 500, Gold Coast
Nov 8-10:            Sandown 500, Sandown
Nov 22-24:         Coates Hire Newcastle 500 (DS2)

NB: DS2 – denotes Dunlop Super2 Series.

Published: 11 October, 2018