CAMS_blade   FIA_Member Logo


Hanson VictoryMatt Hanson and Leigh Wells have taken their maiden Australian Off Road Championship victory at the Teagle Excavations ARB Pines Enduro in Millicent, South Australia.

The pair recovered from a roll in Saturday’s Top Ten Shootout to take the chequered flag, having completed the 390 competitive kilometres in a time of three hours, 35 minutes and 36 seconds.

Hanson’s win has taken him the top of the leaderboard heading into the final round of the 2012 championship.

Matt Coleman and Shawn Teagle crossed the line in second position, six minutes behind Hanson and Wells with the new pairing of Mark Burrows and Sean Ratcliffe rounding out the podium places in third.

Burrows started from pole position but was forced into the pits with brake issues after the first lap. Rejoining in 42nd position, he fought his way through the field over the next five laps to cross the line and take the final podium place.

Matt Hanson was pleased to have a race relatively free of drama, particularly at what he considers his home event.

“After the drama of Sea Lake where we initially thought we had won and ended up second and with the problems at Gundy, to actually win one was great.

"The car ran faultlessly this weekend and we are really pumped. I’ve been racing since I was 12 years old and as a kid I’d dreamt of winning one and to do it on what I would consider my home track, it is awesome.

Attrition was once again a major factor in the race, with only 27 of the 75 starters completing the six laps. Retirements included Gary Turnbull, who started from the front row, but was forced out with brake problems.

The final round of the 2012 Australian Off Road Championship is the Lockyer Valley 300, which is held in South East Queensland from the 9 – 11th November.